Mail 3 is a 20 team APBA baseball league with members located throughout North America, The league has had three different incarnations and is now over 50 years old. Teams play a 160-game schedule using the APBA basic game with advanced rule modifications. There are four divisions with five teams in each one. The top two teams in each division make the playoffs and there are three rounds to determine the World Champion. Each spring, typically the first weekend after the start of the MLB season, the league conducts its annual reverse order free agent draft. Rosters are set at thirty players during the regular season. In the off-season teams may trade both players and draft picks. On this site, you can find the current league rules on the left. In addition, you will find Mail 3's all-time records, essays, current rosters, stats and trades from the current and past seasons.

2022 ROSTERS             2022 TRADES            















Manager Ethan Conner-Ross and his son Wyatt had a great regular season but taking on River City’s powerful offense in the 2021 Mail 3 World Series was a tough challenge. Ethan’s strategic moves and Wyatt’s excellent dice rolling proved to be the difference in leading the Sting to their fourth Mail 3 championship.




     A classic battle looked to be on tap as the #2 100-win San Marino Sting took on the #1 seed 104 game winners from River City in the World Series. In the end, the Rolz were with San Marino, as the Sting battered their way to a four-game sweep and the Mail 3 crown.


     Game 1 matched veteran hurlers Zach Greinke (San) and Charlie Morton (Riv), and Greinke proved as dangerous with his bat as with his arm, launching a 2 run HR in the top of the second to put the visiting Sting in front. The Saturns powered back with a Byron Buxton HR in the 2nd, Franmil Reyes RBI 2B in the 4th and Mitch Garver HR in the 5th and Morton settled in to take a 3-2 lead through the middle innings. Paul Goldschmidt walked to start the 7th and chase Morton and the Saturn bullpen couldn't hold the lead, with Anthony Rendon launching a triple to tie it but later being gunned down trying to score on a fly ball to keep it knotted at 3. In the next frame, Tyler Naquin (in the game to serve as Joey Gallo's legs the last time through order) cracked a surprise double of Aroldis Chapman and came around on a sac fly, and then Naquin solidified his surprise hero status with a two-run HR in the 9th to stretch the lead to 6-3. The insurance proved necessary as Mauricio Dubon homered to start the bottom of the 9th off Emilio Pagan, but the Sting closer settled down and locked down the 6-4 win behind 4 late inning runs on six hits off the Saturns pen.


San 020 000 112 6 11 1 WP: Greinke Sv: Pagan HR: Greinke, Naquin

Riv  010 110 001 4  8 0 LP: Chapman HR: Buxton, Garver, Dubon


     Game 2 matched 20 game winner Hyun-Jin Ryu (San) and 18 game winner Jose Berrios (Riv) but pitching doesn't stop dingers, and two teams that combined for 612 during the year come out swinging, with Christian Yelich and Javier Baez homers powering the visiting Sting to an early 3-2 lead despite Marcus Semien and Matt Chapman homers for the Saturns. San Marino broke free in the 5th, with Yordan Alvarez cracking his fourth double of the first two games to knock in a run and Joey Gallo following with a two-run blast to open the margin to 6-2. The lead looked safe, with Ryu allowing only an unearned run and keeping the bases relatively clear until the bottom of the 9th, when a leadoff double and a two-out walk brought Dubon to the plate as the tying run. Ryu coaxed a groundout to short for the 6-3 win and the Sting snuck out of River City up 2-0, fueled by 16 extra base hits across the two games.


San 120 030 000 6 10 1 WP: Ryu HR: Yelich, Baez, Gallo

Riv  100 101 000 3  5 0 LP: Berrios HR: Semien, Chapman


     Game 3 shifted the scene to San Marino, with Mike Fiers (Riv) on the hill against Rich Hill (San). The visitors found some much needed momentum with a two-run HR from Semien in the first, but it didn't last long, as the Sting matched their 6-run output from game 1 and game 2 in a wild bottom of the first featuring a 3-run HR from Baez and a two-run HR from Gleybar Torres. With Fiers chased early, a succession of relievers came through to keep the visitors in striking distance, and Riv battled back with a Hill error in the 5th keying a two-run triple from Ryan Braun. Into the 8th, another error opened the door and Garver banged through it with a 2 run HR to bring the Saturns all the way back to 6-6. Needing a spark in the bottom of the 9th, the Sting sent up Adalberto Mondesi to hit for Rich Hill to lead off the 9th and he delivered the single and steal on cue to bring up semi-final hero Anthony Rendon. Mr. Clutch sealed his legacy with a double to the gap to send Mondesi streaking home with a 7-6 walk-off win and a 3-0 series lead.


Riv    200 020 020 6 4 0 LP: Robles HR: Semien, Garver

San   600 000 001 7 9 2 WP: Hill HR: Baez, Torres


     Game 4 re-matched Morton and Greinke and for the Saturns again got off on the right foot with two first innings runs thanks to a (rare) succession of singles. But for the second straight game, the Saturns saw their lead and starting pitcher go up in smoke, as the Sting plated four in the second on a two-run Stephen Vogt homer and two-run Yelich double, and four again in the third on a Vogt double and Torres homer for a sudden 8-2 lead. This time, the comeback wasn't in the offing, as the veteran Greinke carried the ball to the finish line while the Sting fans young and old danced their way to an 11-2 win and a Mail 3 championship.


Riv    200 000 000 2  5 2 LP: Morton

San   044 001 20x 11 9 1 WP: Greinke HR: Vogt, Torres, Goldschmidt 


Congrats to Mark on an outstanding team and season, with the league's best record from the franchise with the most all-time wins. The San Marino double numbers were too much on this day as the Sting cracked 30(!) extra base hits in 4 games to 17 for the Saturns and slugged .643 for the series.


With most of the lineup worthy, MVP honors go to Christian Yelich in deference to his dominant overall season, with honorable mention to Zach Greinke for snagging two wins along with a homer and a double at the plate. The Sting will fly the title flag for the fourth time in franchise history, joining David Mudd's Decatur and Woody Studenmund's Eagle Rock at that mark.


Congrats to all on a great season! On to the next!




For more on the Sting wins in the first two rounds of the playoff CLICK HERE